Rural Resilience Program

Listen, learn and link to create opportunities for farming communities

The Rural Resilience Program (PDF, 349.81 KB) defines resilience as a 'process' rather than an outcome or personality trait and acknowledges that levels of resilience among farmers and their families can be impacted by adverse events.

The team works proactively in partnership with farming communities and service providers across NSW to strengthen networks, exchange information and deliver relevant initiatives that build personal and business resilience skills and knowledge, enabling people to move forward in a positive direction.

RRP conducted a statewide Drought Preparedness Survey in 2015. See the summary of results (PDF, 194.78 KB).

The annual RRP report card (PDF, 951.31 KB) creates a benchmark for measuring the impact of the program into the future.

Create a positive future for your family farming business

This workshop will help you identify barriers to a fulfilling and profitable farm family business. You will learn about the types of barriers, how they impact on family wellbeing and business performance and identify your own strengths and weaknesses.

Topics include:

  • Stop, look and listen. Be aware of sneaky social barriers.
  • Good family communication – think before you speak.
  • What’s your business plan – core farm management elements.
  • Identify your business acumen.
  • Leadership, balance and setting a new ‘DNA’ for your family.

Find out about a two-day, face-to-face workshop run by NSW DPI designed for all rural women who want to:

  • have some time out;
  • set personal and business goals to move forward;
  • grow a network of women;
  • boost self-confidence;
  • manage relationship and communication challenges; and
  • learn new skills in a fun, relaxed, supportive environment.

Contact details of services available that provide support for dairy farmers.

 

Location

Rural Resilience Officer

Mobile

Email

Western Region (based at Cobar)

Ellen Day

0427 639 761

ellen.day@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Mid to North Coast (based at Coffs Harbour)

Jen Haberecht

0400 160 287

jen.haberecht@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Southern NSW (based at Goulburn)

Ted O'Kane

0427 781 514

ted.o'kane@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Riverina (based at Hay)

Danny Byrnes

0400 374 258

danny.byrnes@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Coordinator (based in the Hunter at Tocal)

Liane Corocher

0427 188 643

liane.corocher@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Location

Rural Support Worker

Mobile

Email

Hunter New England & Gloucester (based at Scone)

Caroline Hayes

0407 971 675

caroline.hayes@dpi.nsw.gov.au

North West (based at Walgett)

Robyn Walters

0438 082 731

robyn.walters@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Central West (based at Condobolin)Lisa McFadyen0437 671 459lisa.mcfadyen@dpi.nsw.gov.au