#### FORMAT OF NEW SOUTH WALES IDENTIFICATION CODES

The format is eight characters comprising two letters and six numbers.

# Property identification code (PIC) format for properties/holdings, feedlots, showgrounds, travelling stock reserves, public land

- 1<sup>st</sup> character: State code. The default state code is 'N' (for NSW).
- 2<sup>nd</sup> character: Check letter, between A and K. The check digit is calculated according to an algorithm, allowing computer programs to automatically check whether the data entry is correct and the code is valid.
- 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> characters: District number. This number identifies the former Rural Lands Protection District in which the property principally lies.
- 5<sup>th</sup> to 8<sup>th</sup> characters: Property number, assigned in sequential order from '0001' to '9999'.

# PIC format for saleyards and abattoirs

- 1<sup>st</sup> character: State code, as above.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> character: Check letter, as above.
- 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> characters: Double nine, ie '99'. This distinguishes saleyards and abattoirs, where stock is only temporarily held, from all other properties.
- 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> characters: District number, as above.
- 7<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> characters: Establishment number, assigned in sequential order from '01' to '09' for saleyards, and '11' to '19' for abattoirs.

# Agent identification code format

- 1st character: State code, as above.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> character: Check letter, as above.
- 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> characters: Double nought, ie '00'. This distinguishes agent codes from all other identification codes.
- 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> characters: District number, as above.
- 7<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> characters: Agent number, assigned in sequential order from '01' to '99'.

### **District code format**

- 1<sup>st</sup> character: State code, as above.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> character: Check letter, as above.
- 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> characters: District number, as above.
- 5<sup>th,</sup> 6<sup>th</sup>, 7<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> characters: Four noughts, ie '0000'. This signifies that the code applies to the whole district, not an individual property.

#### **Examples**

Property		District		Property			Example	
N	Α	4	7	7	3	5	2	Property 7352 in District 47
Saleyard			District		Saleyard			
N	D	9	9	4	7	0	3	Saleyard 3 in District 47
Abattoir			District		Abattoir			
N	I	9	9	4	7	1	1	Abattoir 1 in District 47
Agent code			Dis	trict	Ag	ent		
N	F	0	0	4	7	1	2	Agent 12 in District 47
District code District								
N	I	4	7	0	0	0	0	District 47

# **NSW DISTRICTS**

For maps and contact details, see <a href="www.lhpa.org.au/contact">www.lhpa.org.au/contact</a>

District number	Rural Lands Protection District	Livestock Health and Pest Authority District		
01	Hume	Hume		
02	Armidale	New England		
03	Balranald-Wentworth	Western		
04	Central Tablelands	Tablelands		
05	Broken Hill	Western		
06	Bombala	South East		
07	Bourke	Darling		
08	Braidwood	South East		
09	Brewarrina	Darling		
10	Nyngan	Central West		
11	Central Tablelands	Tablelands		
12	Casino	North Coast		
13	Cobar	Darling		
14	Condobolin	Lachlan		
15	Cooma	South East		
16	Coonabarabran	Central North		
17	Coonamble	Central West		
18	Murray	Riverina		
20	Riverina	Riverina		
21	Hunter	Mid-Coast		
22	Dubbo	Central West		
23	South Coast	South East		
24	Forbes	Lachlan		
25	Northern New England	New England		
26	Gloucester	Mid-Coast		
27	Goulburn	Tablelands		
28	Grafton	North Coast		
29	Gundagai	Hume		
30	Hay	Riverina		
31	Hillston	Western		
32	Hume	Hume		
33	Northern New England	New England		
34	Murray	Riverina		
35	Maitland (Cumberland portion)	Cumberland		
36	Maitland	Cumberland		
37	Moss Vale	Cumberland		
38	Mudgee-Merriwa	Central North		
39	Milparinka	Western		
40	Molong	Tablelands		
41	Moree	North West		
42	Riverina	Riverina		
43	Mudgee-Merriwa	Central North		
44	Narrandera	Riverina		
45	Narrabri	North West		
46	Moss Vale	Cumberland		
48	Kempsey	Mid-Coast		
50	Tamworth	Central North		
51	Northern New England	New England		
52	Hunter	Mid-Coast		
53	Tweed-Lismore	North Coast		
54		Riverina		
55	Murray Wagga Wagga	Hume		
ეე	Wagga Wagga	Fiume		

56	Walget	North West			
58	Wanaaring	Darling			
59	Northern Slopes	North West			
60	Balranald-Wentworth	Western			
61	Wilcannia	Western			
62	Yass	Tablelands			
63	Young	Lachlan			
64	Maitland (Mid-Coast portion)	Mid-Coast			
75	Australian Capital Territory	Australian Capital Territory			
99	Saleyards and abattoirs	Saleyards and abattoirs			
00	Stock agents	Stock agents			