Armidale Livestock Industries Centre

What happens at Armidale

The NSW Department of Primary Industries (NSW DPI) Armidale Livestock Industries Centre (ALIC) is focused on improving productivity, profitability and sustainability of livestock industries, to deliver and achieve stronger primary industries in accordance with the NSW DPI Strategic Plan 2019-2023. It is the hub of NSW DPI’s beef and sheep industry research and development (R&D).

Located on the University of New England (UNE) campus, ALIC has close links and collaborative programs with UNE, other universities, other state departments, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), and industry organisations throughout NSW, Australia and internationally.

ALIC works closely with other NSW DPI Research Stations located across the state (including at Glen Innes, Trangie, Dubbo, Cowra, Grafton, and Menangle) and with research providers and industry co-operators for the breeding, production and marketing of extensive livestock. Research outputs among others include the development of online decision tools such as BeefSpecs used to optimise output from feedlot and pasture-based cattle production systems.

ALIC’s co-location with UNE has benefited the long-running joint venture, the Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit (AGBU). AGBU was established in 1976 with a mission to conduct R&D into the application of genetic technologies in livestock industries. In the four decades since its inception, AGBU has underpinned R&D for BREEDPLAN, Sheep Genetics, PIGBLUP and TREEPLAN, whilst also playing a key role in the delivery of those systems. AGBU has been integral to the Beef and Sheep Cooperative Research Centres (CRCs), and to the implementation of advanced genomic technologies in the beef, sheep and forestry industries. The industry genetic evaluation systems developed by AGBU directly impact the majority of breeding operations in the four industries detailed above and therefore has a very large genetic footprint both nationally and internationally. The economic benefits arising from the use of AGBU outputs are estimated at over $2bn AUD since 2000, for an investment of approximately $50m AUD.

As part of a significant investment in world-class livestock R&D, NSW DPI has formed another strong collaborative funding framework with Meat & Livestock Australia (MLA), CSIRO, UNE, University of Melbourne, and Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, known as the Livestock Productivity Partnership (LPP), which runs until 2022. ALIC is also key to delivering a number of flagship R&D projects that align with the National Livestock Genetics Consortium (NLGC) Strategic Plan.

Armidale is a multicultural city with a residential population of around 30,000 people. The original inhabitants of the region are the Anaiwan Aboriginal people. Education and Training is the largest employer, followed by Health Care and Social Assistance, with Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing ranked third. Livestock production is the largest regional industry.

Cattle

Our research

The Centre has a history of world-leading research undertaken by our interdisciplinary collaborative teams over the past 25 years.

Armidale site

Our facilities and services

The Centre has a range of research, education, farming and community resources.

Armidale site

Our history

Established in 1996 on the campus of the University of New England with a focus on collaborative research programs.

Aerial view of ALIC

Our climate

Located midway between Sydney and Brisbane, the Centre experiences a cool temperate climate.

Our staff

Staff nameEmailContact

Siôn Jones - Director Extensive Livestock

sion.jones@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1801

Alistair Donaldson

alistair.donaldson@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1805

Annette Cowie

annette.cowie@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1842

Brad Walmsley

brad.walmsley@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6773 3781

Felicity Henderson

felicity.henderson@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1804

Flavio Alvarenga

flavio.alvarenga@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6776 1353

Hannah Salvin

hannah.salvin@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1813

Hutton Oddy

hutton.oddy@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1806

Jason Siddell

jason.siddell@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1828

Jenny Chapman

jenny.chapman@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1808

Jude Bond

jude.bond@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1827

Katie Austin

katie.austin@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6776 1436

Linda Cafe

linda.cafe@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1825

Luke Stephen

luke.stephen@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1843

Malcolm McPhee

malcolm.mcphee@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1838

Mark Evered

mark.evered@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1826

Paul Greenwood

paul.greenwood@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6776 1374

Reg Woodgate

reg.woodgate@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1817

Robin Dobos

robin.dobos@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1824

Robyn Hean

robyn.hean@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1812

Sue Mortimer

sue.mortimer@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1836

Tharcilla Alvarenga

tharcilla.alvarenga@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1832

Todd Andrews

todd.andrews@dpi.nsw.gov.au

+61 2 6770 1831

LocationContact

Armidale Livestock Industries Centre
JSF Barker Building
Trevenna Road
University of New England
Armidale NSW 2351 Australia

Phone: +61 2 6770 1800

Email: felicity.henderson@dpi.nsw.gov.au