Important Agricultural Land Mapping in NSW

The NSW Department of Primary Industries is undertaking a mapping program across NSW to assist state and local government, other organisations and industries to recognise and value important agricultural land. The program supports the NSW Department of Planning and Environment’s regional planning targets that include actions to map important agricultural lands in NSW.

Knowing where important agricultural land is situated and understanding its location, value and contribution will assist in making decisions about current and future agricultural land uses. This information will help government and industry to:

For an accessible description of this map contact the author
  • provide more certainty for agribusiness to remain, invest and grow
  • reduce land use conflict
  • enable compatible development in zones that permit agriculture
  • choose appropriate zones for non-agricultural development
  • support essential agricultural assets and the agricultural supply chain.
  • identify future opportunities for agricultural industries

There are nine regions being mapped for important agricultural land:

  • Central Coast
  • Central West and Orana
  • Far West
  • Hunter
  • Illawarra-Shoalhaven
  • New England North West
  • North Coast
  • Riverina Murray
  • South East and Tablelands

Frequently Asked Questions

View our Frequently Asked Questions for more information.

Important Agricultural Land Mapping currently on exhibition

There are none currently on exhibition.