Animal Welfare Advisory Council

The Animal Welfare Advisory Council is a non-statutory committee with the purpose of providing the NSW Government with advice on animal welfare matters. The Council comprises representatives from industry, government, animal welfare organisations and professional bodies providing a spectrum of views and balanced advice. There is an independent chair, appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries and 11 member positions.

More information on the Animal Welfare Advisory Council

For more information on the Animal Welfare Advisory Council, please email

Current membership

  • Chair - Dr Kersti Seksel (Australian Veterinary Association)
  • Detective Inspector Cameron Whiteside (NSW Police)
  • Mr Robert McIntosh (NSW Farmers)
  • Mr Mark Fraser (Pet Industry Association of Australia)
  • Dr Kate Mills (Australian Veterinary Association)
  • Ms Dianne Peisley (Livestock and Bulk Carriers Association)
  • Dr Suzanne Robinson (Department of Primary Industries)
  • Dr Elizabeth Braddon (Local Land Services)
  • Mr Stephen Amesbury (Wildlife Rescue, South Coast)
  • Mr Stephen Bradshaw (Australian Rodeo Federation)
  • Mr Steve Coleman (RSPCA NSW)