NSW Lobster Industry Working Group

The NSW Lobster Industry Working Group was established following the discontinuation of the Lobster Fishery Management Advisory Committee in 2012. The working group is the key consultative mechanism for Total Allowable Commercial Catch determinations and other policy and operational issues relating to the NSW Lobster Fishery as required.

The working group includes five regional fisher member positions, one recreational member position, one Aboriginal member position, and one conservation member position. The Lobster Fisheries Manager, one DPI Compliance Officer and one DPI Science and Research member will also form part of the group.

The working group operates under Terms of Reference (PDF, 65.66 KB) which set out the structure, role and functions of the working group.

The Deputy Director General, DPI Fisheries is now inviting expressions of interest for membership on the NSW Lobster Industry Working Group

Current working group members

  • Chair: Fisheries Manager (other than the Lobster Fisheries Manager)
  • Executive Officer: Lobster Fisheries Manager
  • DPI Research Scientist
  • DPI Compliance Officer
  • Daniel Stewart - Industry member Queensland border to Smoky Cape
  • Noel Gogerly - Industry member Smoky Cape to Seal Rocks
  • Lee Monin - Industry member Seal Rocks to Swansea
  • Peter Offner - Industry member Swansea to Bundeena
  • Scott Westley- Industry member Bundeena to Victorian border
  • Oliver Wady - Recreational member
  • The positions of Conservation member and Indigenous member are currently vacant.

Archive of Lobster Working Group Meetings