Department of Primary Industries

Department of Regional NSW



Communique – NSW Hemp Industry Taskforce

29 February 2024

The Chair, Kate Lorimer-Ward, Deputy Director General Agriculture, welcomed members to the first meeting of the NSW Hemp Industry Taskforce, on behalf of the Minister for Agriculture.

Taskforce members include: Mr Kieren Brown, Mr Bob Doyle, Mr Rangi Faulder, Mr Andrew Kavasilas, Mr Charles Kovess, Dr Tobias Kretzschmar, Ms Klara Marosszeky, Mr Jaimie Milling, Ms Alanna Rennie, Mr Tim Schmidt and Ms Crystal White.

The Taskforce noted its Terms of Reference and discussed the administration and organisation of the Taskforce meetings.

The Taskforce agreed and discussed its work plan, including consideration of the following matters:

- Market opportunities
- Research and development priorities
- Supply and value chain needs
- Carbon, sustainability and circular economy
- National considerations
- Legislative framework

The Taskforce also agreed that it was important the segments of the industry are considered throughout the workplan, including food, fibre, fodder, extracts and carbon.

The next Taskforce meeting is scheduled for Thursday 21 March 2024.