Community input invited on Regional Forest Agreements

24 Jan 2018

Regional communities are being encouraged to have their say on the renewal of NSW Regional Forest Agreements (RFAs), covering the North East, Eden and Southern Regions of NSW.

NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI) Group Director Forestry Policy, Research and Development, Nick Milham, said the NSW and Australian governments are currently seeking community input through drop-in sessions, and a consultation and submission process.

“The NSW and Australian governments are encouraging all stakeholders to have their say on what shape the RFAs should take and how we can improve the sustainable management of our native forests,” Mr Milham said.

“The governments are working closely with all parties to get the balance right in the long-term management of our forest resources, and consultation is integral to this process.

“We hope to hear from industry, environment groups, landholders and the broader community on any emerging issues or changes that need to be captured since the agreements were developed nearly 20 years ago,” he said.

Mr Milham said the RFAs are in place to ensure the sustainable management and conservation of Australia’s native forests.

“The renewal consultation coincides with a review being undertaken on how we are tracking in current implementation of the RFAs.

“This provides our stakeholders with a full picture on how we have performed under the existing agreements, while at the same time what the future holds, and how we can learn from our experience over the past 20 years.”

As part of community consultation, DPI is hosting six drop-in sessions throughout February at the following locations:

  • Lismore, Tuesday 6 February
  • Coffs Harbour, Wednesday 7 February
  • Bulahdelah, Thursday 8 February
  • Eden, Tuesday 13 February
  • Batemans Bay, Wednesday 14 February
  • Tumut, Thursday 15 February

View specific event location and times.

Submissions can be made online, via email and via mail until 5pm on Monday 12 March 2018. For more information on Regional Forest Agreements and the renewal consultation, visit the DPI website.

Background information

There are three RFAs in NSW: Eden (expiring on 26 August 2019); North East (expiring on 31 March 2020); and Southern (expiring on 24 April 2021).

The commitment to improve and renew the NSW RFAs is a key component of the NSW Forestry Industry Roadmap 2016. The Roadmap commits to a sustainable and reliable timber supply with the maintenance of environmental values.

Media contact: Laura Hutton 0427 652 088