Standards for exhibiting Australian mammals


The Standards for Exhibiting Australian Mammals in New South Wales are prescribed standards pursuant to Clause 8(1) of the Exhibited Animals Protection Regulation 2010. These standards apply to all species of terrestrial and aquatic native Australian mammals (and does not include marine mammals) displayed, or kept for display, by exhibitors authorised under the Exhibited Animals Protection Act 1986 (EAPA).

The standards within this publication have been developed to maximise the welfare of animals in captivity and cover a range of areas including:

  • psychological and physical animal welfare
  • educational value of exhibits
  • public safety
  • guidelines for new and existing displays
  • legal effect


Published: 19 Apr 2006