Line & Trap Harvest Strategy Working Group

A Line & Trap Harvest Strategy Working Group has been established for a three-year term to engage stakeholders in a collaborative process to develop harvest strategies for key species in the NSW inshore and offshore shelf line & trap fisheries across all harvest sectors, commencing with Yellowtail Kingfish and Snapper.

The Working Group is a sub-committee of the Commercial Fishing NSW Advisory Council (CommFish NSW) and Recreational Fishing NSW Advisory Council (RFNSW). The newly appointed Chairperson and members are all well qualified and bring decades of experience to the Working Group.

Independent members of the working group include:

  • Chairperson – Mr Ian Cartwright

Mr Cartwright has extensive international fisheries management experience, is a former Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) Commissioner and currently chairs a range of Australian fisheries advisory committees.

  • Independent Scientist – Dr Tony Smith

Dr Smith has decades of experience in fisheries research and is a world leading expert in fish stock assessment science, harvest strategy development and multispecies fisheries management.

  • Independent Economist – Ms Sevaly Sen

Ms Sen has significant experience in international natural resource and fisheries economics. She is a current AFMA Commissioner and has provided economic expertise to many Commonwealth, NSW and non-government initiatives.

Other members of the working group include:

  • Recreational fishers – Mr Ian Puckeridge, Mr Brad-Lee Gibson and Mr James Norris
  • Commercial fishers – Mr Daniel Stewart, Mr Mitchell Sanders and Mr Stephen McGuire
  • NSW Fisheries Scientist – Dr John Stewart
  • NSW Fisheries Manager – Mr Darren Hale
  • NSW Fisheries Harvest Strategy Manager – Mr Nicholas Giles

For further information relating to the role of the Line & Trap Harvest Strategy Working Group please see: