Our team

The Soils team includes researchers, technicians and development staff located across eight NSW DPI locations. Our mandate is to enhance soil management practices within the NSW Agricultural sector through research and development activities. We also provide policy and planning advice to Government agencies and industry.

The Soils team do not provide individual agronomic advice or interpret soil tests. For these services please contact the relevant Local Land Services (LLS) office and/or a private advisor. To ensure the private advisor you choose can provide the most up to date information and advice they should be Fertcare accredited.

The team

Director

Dr Warwick Dougherty (Elizabeth Macarthur Agricultural Institute – Menangle)
Mobile: 0439 404 246
Email: warwick.dougherty@nsw.dpi.gov.au


Soils North

John Friend – Leader Soils North (Tamworth Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0439 779 885
Email: john.friend@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Abigail Jenkins – Development Officer (Wollongbar Primary Industries Institute)
Mobile: 0429 159 482
Email: abigail.jenkins@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Graeme Schwenke – Senior Research Scientist (Tamworth Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0418 636 421
Email: graeme.schwenke@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Guna Nachimuthu - Senior Research Scientist (Australian Cotton Research Institute – Narrabri)
Mobile: 0428 217 862
Email: guna.nachimuthu@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Justine Cox – Research Officer (Wollongbar Primary Industries Institute)
Mobile: 0438 770 187
Email: justine.cox@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Lukas Van Zwieten – Senior Principal Research Scientist (Wollongbar Primary Industries Institute)
Phone: (02) 6626 1126
Email: lukas.van.zwieten@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Mick Rose – Senior Research Scientist (Wollongbar Primary Industries Institute)
Mobile: 0422 522 774
Email: mick.rose@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Simon Clarendon – Research Officer (Tamworth Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0408 997 651
Email: simon.clarendon@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Stephen Kimber – Research Officer (Orange Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0427 593 867
Email: stephen.kimber@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Tony Vancov – Senior Research Scientist (Elizabeth Macarthur Agricultural Institute – Menangle)
Mobile: 0403 951 354
Email: tony.vancov@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Soils South

Dr Susan Orgill – Leader Soils South (Wagga Wagga Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0428 424 566
Email: susan.orgill@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Dr Belinda Hackney – Research Officer (Cowra Research Station)
Mobile: 0438 850 942
Email: belinda.hackney@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Ehsan Tavakkoli – Senior Research Scientist (Wagga Wagga Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0421 018 075
Email: ehsan.tavakkoli@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Jason Condon – Research Officer (Wagga Wagga Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0448 224 500
Email: jason.condon@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Jessica Rigg – Research Officer (Elizabeth Macarthur Agricultural Institute – Menangle)
Mobile: 0418 273 728
Email: jessica.rigg@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Luke Beange – Development Officer (Dubbo)
Mobile: 0418 402 463
Email: luke.beange@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Mark Whatmuff – Research Officer (Elizabeth Macarthur Agricultural Institute – Menangle)
Mobile: 0403 284 945
Email: mark.whatmuff@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Shihab Uddin – Research Scientist (Wagga Wagga Agricultural Institute)
Mobile: 0439 203 207
Email: shihab.uddin@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Yunying Fang – Research Scientist (Elizabeth Macarthur Agricultural Institute – Menangle)
Mobile: 0433 655 665
Email: yunying.fang@dpi.nsw.gov.au