Agriculture industry snapshots for planning

Agricultural industry snapshots are summary statements of the main agricultural industries in all regions across NSW. They enable an understanding of agriculture at a regional or sub-regional level and provide information to enable a deeper understanding of agricultural industries.

The information provides evidence for strategic planning to enable agricultural land and agriculturally based economies to be recognised, protected and supported by the NSW planning framework. Nineteen snapshots have been developed across the ten Planning Regions in the State. Some regions have more than one snapshot to reflect the diversity of agriculture and farming operations that occur in different parts of a region.

Recognition of agricultural industries as a significant contributor economically, environmentally and culturally is the precursor to applying best practice land use planning to enable industry investment and growth.

Download the summary

The below table outlines the cluster of local government areas (LGA) for each sub region snapshot within the planning regions. Click on the sub region to download it’s snapshot.

Planning Region

Snapshot Sub Region


Central Coast

Central Coast (PDF, 2774.89 KB)

Central Coast

Central West/Orana

Central Tablelands (PDF, 2646.17 KB)

Bathurst Regional, Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Lithgow, Mid-Western Regional, Oberon, Orange

Central Slopes & Plains (PDF, 2544.74 KB)

Bogan, Coonamble, Forbes, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Narromine, Parkes, Warren, Warrumbungle Shire, Weddin, Western Plains Regional

Far West

Lower Murray (PDF, 3337.72 KB)

Balranald, Wentworth

Western Plains (PDF, 1520.56 KB)

Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Walgett

Far West (PDF, 1287.99 KB)

Broken Hill, Central Darling, Unincorporated NSW

Greater Sydney

Greater Sydney (PDF, 3102.58 KB)



Upper Hunter*

Cessnock, Muswellbrook, Singleton, Upper Hunter Shire

Mid Coast*

Dungog, Mid-Coast

Lower Hunter*

Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Newcastle, Port Stephens


Illawarra/Shoalhaven (PDF, 2897.84 KB)

Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Wollongong

New England/North West

North West Plains (PDF, 2496.14 KB)

Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Moree Plains, Narrabri

Northern Slopes and Tablelands (PDF, 3263.52 KB)

Armidale Regional, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell, Tamworth Regional, Tenterfield, Uralla, Walcha

North Coast

Northern Rivers (PDF, 4738.71 KB)

Ballina, Byron, Clarence Valley, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Tweed

Mid North Coast (PDF, 4320.11 KB)

Bellingen, Coffs Harbour, Kempsey, Nambucca, Port Macquarie-Hastings

Riverina Murray

Murray (PDF, 6762.13 KB)

Albury, Berrigan, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume Shire, Murray River

Western Riverina (PDF, 3793.38 KB)

Bland, Carrathool, Griffith, Hay, Leeton, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera

Eastern Riverina (PDF, 2903.87 KB)

Coolamon, Cootamundra- Gundagai, Junee, Lockhart, Snowy Valleys, Temora, Wagga Wagga

South East and Tablelands

South East and Tablelands (PDF, 3582.48 KB)

Goulburn Mulwaree, Hilltops, Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional, Snowy Monaro Regional, Upper Lachlan Shire, Wingecarribee, Yass Valley, Bega Valley, Eurobodalla

* Snapshots to be completed by March 2021.