DPI Dairy Team

Nicolas Lyons, Leader Dairy (Camden, NSW)

Nicolas Lyons Responsible for leading NSW DPI’s dairy research, development and adoption program, providing strategic guidance, operational support and supervision to the team, as well as coordinating dairy industry policy advice and industry engagement.

Interests and expertise: Adoption of precision dairy farming technologies, such as Automatic Milking Systems (AMS), as well as optimisation of data on-farm and through the supply chain.

Projects: Milking Edge

Contact information: nicolas.lyons@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Sheena Carter, Development Officer Dairy Farm Business Management (Scone, NSW)

Sheena CarterInterests and expertise: Dairy farm business management, farm business performance and monitoring, workshop delivery and facilitation.

Projects: Dairy Business Advisory Unit, NSW Dairy Farm Monitor Project (DFMP)

Contact information: sheena.carter@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Zita Ritchie, Development Officer Dairy (Wollongbar, NSW)

Zita RitchieInterests and expertise: Farm business management, group facilitation and training and climate risk management in the dairy industry.

Projects: Navigating farm development, NSW Dairy Farm Monitor Project

Contact information: zita.ritchie@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Juan Gargiulo, Development Officer Dairy (Camden, NSW)

Juan GargiuloInterests and expertise: Farm business management, automation, precision technologies and data management

Projects: Milking Edge,

Contact information: juan.gargiulo@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Jessica Bell, Project Officer Dairy Robotic Milking (Cowra, NSW)

Jessica BellInterests and expertise: Developing and delivering education and extension packages for farmers and industry in relation to automated milking systems in Australia.

Projects: Milking Edge

Contact information: jessica.bell@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Tori Alexander, Project Officer Dairy Robotic Milking (Camden, NSW)

Tori AlexanderInterests and Expertise: Supporting adoption of sustainable farming practices, including incorporating technology on-farm, farm business performance and monitoring, and developing and delivering workshops and extension packages

Projects: Milking Edge

Contact information: tori.alexander@dpi.nsw.gov.au