Rural Recovery Support Services

The Rural Recovery Support Service is managed by the NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI) and funded by Resilience NSW, to provide assistance to rural landholders and primary producers who have been impacted by the recent floods. DPI Recovery Workers are a single point of contact, providing information and referrals to support you on your recovery journey.

Our Recovery Officers can help you:

  • prepare grant applications
  • find the right technical advice
  • access workshops and information on key recovery topics
  • connect with industry experts
  • navigate government systems and regulations to resolve complex issues involving multiple agencies
  • link to a wide range of personal, business and financial services

Contacts for your local Recovery Officer:

Location 

Name

Mobile

Email

Ballina

Rosie Whitelaw

0460 729 080

rosie.whitelaw@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Ballina/Byron

Ty Lawless

0467 036 107

tyron.lawless@dpi.nsw.gov.au 

Bellingen

Brett Hall

0438 828 872

brett.hall@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Byron

Nitya Rolfe

0458 632 682

nitya.rolfe@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Clarence Valley

Mel Kenyon

0477 801 998

mel.kenyon@dpi.nsw.gov.au 

Clarence ValleySally Power

0407 295 691

sally.power@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Coffs Harbour

Joshua Foster

0417 467 436

joshua.foster@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Glen Innes and Armidale

Jane Munro

0417 463 451

jane.munro@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Hawkesbury

Louise Fletcher

0499 307 303

louise.fletcher@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Hawkesbury and Greater Western Sydney

Lisa Sullivan

0438 080 459

lisa.sullivan@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Hunter LGAs

Emily Worthington-Rich

0472 707 428

emily.worthington-rich@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Hunter LGAs

Julian Farrugia

0488 100 034

julian.farrugia@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Illawarra, South Coast & Southern Highlands LGAs

Bec Paget

0436 282 829

bec.paget@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Illawarra, South Coast & Southern Highlands LGAs

Henry Goodall

0438 744 267

henry.goodall@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Kempsey

Rob Edwards

0417 443 635

rob.edwards@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Kyogle

Fiona Borello

0455 455 574

fiona.borello@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Lismore

Michelle Braiuka

0456 818 048

michelle.braiuka@dpi.nsw.gov.au 

Lismore

Trent Costello

0457 469 598

trent.costello@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Mid Coast

Jo Mountney

0477 987 470

joanne.mountney@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Nambucca

Tia McIntyre

0477 100 087

tia.mcintyre@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Outreach Coordination

Mel Bull

0408 993 455

melissa.bull@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Port Macquarie Hastings

Eden Sutherland

0439 531 107

eden.sutherland@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Remote & Digital Support

Melissa Bowman

0457 467 973

melissa.bowman@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Richmond Valley

Aimee Kenney

0437 762 209

aimee.kenney@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Richmond Valley

Yvonne Campbell

0474 872 963

yvonne.campbell@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Tenterfield

Jodie Magner

0429 995 189

jodie.magner@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Tweed

Tony O'Connor

0448 301 169

tony.oconnor@dpi.nsw.gov.au


Rural landholders & primary producers located outside these areas can email
flood.recovery@dpi.nsw.gov.au or call 0448 077 684

Flood Recovery Resources

Please click on the blue bars below to find information that can help you recover from floods.

Resources and factsheets

Additional flood recovery resources can be found by visiting Local Land Services.

Regrouping after Natural Disasters

A 3-Part Webinar Series with Kim Deans, Business Coach

Workbook

Farm Insurance

Disaster damage survey

To record damage to primary production and animals from natural disasters visit www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/damage

The damage survey allows you to record the number of crops, animals, infrastructure and other primary industries damaged in a single event. You can add photos to the assessment and see the severity of damage in your area. With the current floods, we are encouraging those impacted to submit to this survey.

Animal welfare after floods

Managing stock problems after a flood

Stock problems after a flood (nsw.gov.au)

Livestock welfare

Floodwaters and wet conditions can cause a wide range of livestock health issues. Monitor your livestock for signs of disease or injury, ensuring your livestock have access to adequate food and water.

Information on what to look out for can be found HERE.

If you observe any signs of disease or illness please contact your local district vet on 1300 795 299 or call the Agriculture and Animal Services Hotline on 1800 678 593.

Caring for horses after floods

If your horse has been directly affected by flooding, submerged or standing in floodwaters for long periods of time it can lead to several health issues, monitor your horses for any signs of illness or injury.

It is important to assess them as soon as possible, make sure they have clean water to drink and access to food and shelter. For more information on how to care for horses after floods, click HERE.

Managing pasture & fodder after a flood

Pasture options after a coastal flood (nsw.gov.au)

It’s important that landholders understand where feed and fodder has come from, and what it is made up of so potential biosecurity risks can be managed. NSW Department of Primary Industries have produced this helpful handout for landholders and you can download a copy HERE.

For information about buying hay or silage after a flood, click HERE.

For information about biosecurity risks, like pests, weeds and diseases, visit Feed and Fodder (nsw.gov.au)

NSW Department of Primary Industries Drought Feed Calculator

Managing water quality and testing after a flood

After flood or storms, suspended solids such as soil, silt or clay, can clog filters or irrigation systems. Poor water quality can reduce the productivity of plants and pastures or compromise livestock and human health.

If you have any doubts about the quality of water you intend to use for irrigation, stock, human consumption or other domestic purpose, you should get it tested. For more information, click HERE or call (02) 6626 1103.

Horticulture

Recent flooding has devastated many horticulture businesses across our region. Financial assistance is available.

Click HERE for available assistance.

We also encourage you to seek specific advice on the impact of floodwaters to your enterprise given the unique needs of various tree crops, vegetables or berries.

Assessing and stabilising soil erosion earlier is best to prevent further damage following rain events. Please also be mindful that flood water can impact crop product simply by conveying health risks like leptospirosis or untreated sewerage.

Chat to a trusted advisor in your industry or reach out to resources including https://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/agriculture/horticulture or https://ausveg.com.au or https://www.horticulture.com.au

Rural Recovery Support Service - Bushfires

Please note the dedicated Bushfire Recovery Support Service finished at end of December 2021. If you require assistance, regardless of the disaster affecting you, please contact the Flood Recovery Support Service.