Riverina Recreational Fishing Guide


Our State's fisheries are a community-owned resource. We all have a responsibility to protect and safeguard this natural asset for present and future generations.

Fishing regulations are in place to protect and conserve our fish stocks and aquatic habitats to ensure that fishing activities remain sustainable.

The Riverina District takes in the lower Lachlan River, the lower Murrumbidgee River, the Murray River and the entire river systems of the Edward, Wakool and Niemur Rivers. Permanent creek systems within the Riverina District also include Old Man Creek, Yanco, Colombo, Billabong, Mirrool, Gulpa, Tuppal, Yallakool and Merran Creeks.

This Primefact provides valuable information on fishing in the Riverina District including:

  • closures
  • fishing rules
  • catch & release
  • fishing safety


Published: Aug 2018