Beekeeping on public land

To keep bee hives (an Apiary) on public land in NSW you must hold a permit or license to do so from the government agency that manages the land.

In line with the new policy framework for apiary sites on public land, we are now standardising how permits are issued across all agencies.

Recently vacated available sites are now being allocated via an Expressions of Interest process and will be published on the EOI Process page of this website.

Sites that haven't been used for at least 2 years and in some cases have never been used ("Long Term Vacant" sites) are allocated on a First Come, First Served basis if identified by apiarists. A pilot of an online process to publish potentially available sites is planned to start in mid-July 2019. Read more about the Long Term Vacant Apiary Sites Online Pilot.

To receive notifications about the publishing of EOI and Long Term Vacant sites please send an email to apiary.sites@dpi.nsw.gov.au.

For enquiries about existing permits please contact the respective agencies with the details below.

As part of the NSW Government Drought Assistance Package the government has announced plans to waive annual fees for existing public bee site permits. Visit Drought Hub for more information.

Contacts

If you want to seek permission to keep bees on public land, you can contact the main public agencies listed below.

Forestry Corporation of NSW

Forestry Corporation NSW manage the majority of public forestry areas that are not in National Parks or Reserves. Current information about Apiary permits is on the Forestry Corporation Permits page.

For East Coast Forests contact Kim Drysdale, Public Information Officer
Phone: 02 6585 3744
Email: kim.drysdale@fcnsw.com.au

For Western NSW Forests contact Kirrily Cain, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 02 6841 4214
Email: kirrily.cain@fcnsw.com.au

Local Land Services

The Local Land Services (LLS) manage travelling stock routes (TSR’s) and other crown land which may be suitable for beekeeping sites. Contact your local LLS regional office for your apiary contact.

Table 1: Local Land Services regional offices

Region

Contact

Position

Phone Number

Email

Central Tablelands

Alistair Gordon-Smith

Senior Biosecurity Officer

02 6333 2324

alistair.gordon-smith@lls.nsw.gov.au

Central West

Chris Robinson

TSR Administration

02 6841 6521

chris.robinson@lls.nsw.gov.au

Greater Sydney

NA

No permits being issued currently.

NA

NA

Hunter

Peter Fotheringham

TSR & Emergency Management SLSO

0409 034 557

doug.bradley@lls.nsw.gov.au

Murray

Judy Gillett

Customer Service Officer

03 5886 1203

judy.gillett@lls.nsw.gov.au

North Coast

Gabrielle Blackwell

LSO TSR

02 6623 3911

gabrielle.blackwell@lls.nsw.gov.au

North West

Michelle Wheeler

Customer Service Officer

02 6790 7600

admin.northwest@lls.nsw.gov.au

Northern Tablelands

Michelle Evans

Customer Service Officer

02 6720 8300

michelle.evans@lls.nsw.gov.au

Riverina

Hayley Johns-Woodland

Customer Service Officer

02 6923 6300

hayley.johns-woodland@lls.nsw.gov.au

South East

Chloe O’Mara

Customer & Admin officer

02 6118 7700

enquiry.southeast@lls.nsw.gov.au

Western

Kerryn Hart

Senior Land Services Officer TSR

03 5021 9401

kerryn.hart@lls.nsw.gov.au

NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service

NPWS parks and reserves have very limited potential for new apiary sites in accordance with their beekeeping policy. Apiary enquiries can be referred to park.businesses@environment.nsw.gov.au.